Welcome to the Artist section of the DG website

Choose an artist from the left side of this page, either via a photo or the drop-down menu. Sign up for our Newsletter to receive the latest news about artists and upcoming releases.

Deutsche Grammophon artists scoop top awards at Echo Klassik in Germany

Leading the way for Deutsche Grammophon are Anna Netrebko and Piotr Beczala, who have been named “Singers of the Year” in advance of the 21st ECHO Klassik awards. The winning discs are Netrebko’s Verdi album, which stormed the charts on the day of its release, and Beczala’s DVD of Rigoletto with The Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and Chorus under Michele Mariotti.

The “Conductor of the Year” award will go to Yannick Nézet-Séguin for his disc Stravinsky/Stokowski – “A cunningly constructed, beautifully played programme” (Guardian).

There will be  “Concerto Recording of the Year” awards for two Deutsche Grammophon releases. Martha Argerich and Claudio Abbado win with their celebrated recording of Mozart’s Piano Concertos Nos. 20 and 25, and Anne-Sophie Mutter receives an award for her Dvořák album with the Berliner Philharmoniker under Manfred Honeck.

There are two Yellow Label wins in the “Music DVD Production of the Year” category: the  documentary film Karajan – The Second Life by Eric Schulz and the Metropolitan Opera production of The Tempest by Thomas Adčs.

The winners of four other categories – “Lifetime Achievement”, “Newcomer of the Year”, “Classical Music for Children”, and an award for “Promoting Young Talent” – will be announced at a later date

Founded in 1994, the ECHO Klassik is one of the most prestigious classical music award in the world.

The awards will be presented in Munich on 26 October 2014.