Diverse Künstler | News | Deutsche Grammophon partners with the Virtual Verbier Festival 2020

Deutsche Grammophon partners with the Virtual Verbier Festival 2020

Virtual Verbier Festival - DG cooperation
“I’ve been coming to Verbier since I was 21 and it was there that all these fantastic musicians who lived in my head became real. Verbier is so magical for me – it always feels like coming home, or a fun vacation with my closest friends.”  (Yuja Wang)
First joint evening stream tonight at 7PM CET on our DG YouTube Channel featuring Valery Gergiev, who is joined by Anna Netrebko, Daniil Trifonov & Bryn Terfel.
Since 1994 the Verbier Festival has transformed a small Swiss Alpine resort into a unique hothouse for musicians to explore new repertoire and new partnerships, always with revelatory results. While this year’s Festival has been cancelled on the ground in Verbier, it has transformed itself online. From 16 July to 2 August, in partnership with Virtual Verbier Festival 2020, DG joins forces with medici.tv to stream multiple evening videos presenting interviews, masterclasses and re-broadcasts of favourite concerts and rarities that haven’t been seen or heard since they first appeared on the Festival’s stages. In addition we are digitally releasing four previously unpublished live recordings.
The streaming evenings include performances by DG artists who are regular guests at Verbier, including Evgeny Kissin, Mischa Maisky, Daniel Lozakovich, Anna Netrebko, Bryn Terfel, Daniil Trifonov and Yuja Wang. Exclusive new performances, recorded especially for the Virtual Verbier Festival by some of the Festival’s biggest stars, many associated with DG, will start off most evenings. Programming is scheduled from 7 pm to midnight CET and is supported by Bank Julius Baer.
Schedule of virtual concert video streams on DG’s YouTube channel
New Verbier Festival Album Releases on DG
DG’s partnership with the Verbier Festival this year also encompasses 4 audio releases celebrating highlights from the festival’s archives:
Shostakovich: Trio no. 1, op. 8 – Janine Jansen, Mischa Maisky, Lucas Debargue (2017. Release: 17 July)
Franck: Piano Quintet – Marc-André Hamelin, Joshua Bell, Pamela Frank, Nobuko Imai, Steven Isserlis (2014. Release 24 July)
Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Florence, op. 70 – Leonidas Kavakos, Lisa Bathiashvili, Antoine Tamestit, Blythe Teh Engstroem, Gautier Capuçon, Stephan Koncz (2013. Release: 31 July)
Rachmaninov: cello sonata op. 19 – Yuja Wang, Lynn Harrell (2008. Release: 31 July)