Product Family | BRUCKNER Symphonies Nos. 2 & 8 / Nelsons

BRUCKNER Symphonies Nos. 2 & 8 / Nelsons
Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 8 / Wagner: Meistersinger Prelude - Andris Nelsons
Bruckner: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 8 / Wagner: Meistersinger Prelude - Andris Nelsons
Andris Nelsons · Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
Anton Bruckner:
Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, WAB 102 – Ed. William Carragan
Symphony No. 8 in C Minor, WAB 108 – Ed. Leopold Nowak

Richard Wagner
Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, WWV 96: Prelude
Andris Nelsons
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig
VÖ: February 5, 2021

Product Information

We announce the release of Andris Nelsons and the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig’s performance of Bruckner’s Symphonies Nos. 2 & 8, coupled with Wagner’s Meistersinger Prelude. The Orchestra and the Latvian Maestro recently announced the extension of their acclaimed partnership until 2027.
“In this symphony, Bruckner has formulated everything very clearly: the wonderful themes are clearly separated from each other by general pauses, and yet the result is a great whole. It is astonishing that this work is so rarely performed – in fact it is an ideal introduction to the cosmos of Bruckner’s Symphony”, says Gewandhaus Kapellmeister Andris Nelsons about the second symphony. Bruckner himself called his Eighth a “mystery”. Andris Nelsons has much to gain from this: “Bruckner penetrated here, especially in the slow movement, into regions that were beyond the reach of other composers. The unity of the enormous work is also a miracle. The magnificent final set – the last that Bruckner was able to complete – contributes to this”.
Deutsche Grammophon (DG)

Artists / Composers

Follow Deutsche Grammophon online